A letter to 2013

Happy New Year’s Eve!

2013 will be over soon and 2014 is anxiously awaiting its grand entrance at precisely midnight tonight.

This year taught me a lot about myself and the people around me, and I am very happy to say that I have growth in a year’s time.

No one knows what 2014 will hold, but before we let go of 2013, I’d like to say a few things to it.

Dear 2013,

Thanks for an interesting year that was filled with health, happiness and plenty of margaritas.

But more importantly than all of that, thanks for bringing me knowledge, opportunity and wisdom. I faced problems this year that challenged my family, my friends and myself, but in the best way, because we all grew and learned. You brought new people into my life who I never want to see go and you removed some people who had overstayed their welcome. You taught me a lot about myself–who I am as a person, my flaws, my strengths, what I like, what I don’t lie, that I don’t have everything figured out and that it’s okay not to. You showed me that the world is very big and I am very small, and that I should never forget that.

You helped me find new opportunities that put my skills to the test, like my spring internship that I learned a lot about my goals from, and my amazing summer internship that raised my hopes for the future. The times weren’t always the easiest, but for the most part, you gave me one hell of a year.

I can honestly say you are leaving me a better person than I was when we first met a year ago.

I hope 2014 is as wonderful as you are.

My only real wish for the new year coming in is a job. You see, 2013, I’m graduating college in May, so if you could pass that wish of mine along to 2014 for me as you two pass by each other at 11:59 tonight, I’d be most thankful.

Thanks again for a wonderful 369 days!

Love,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

