Books rule, eBooks drool

I think it would be safe to say that I am a technology cavewoman.

While everyone was scrolling 100 songs on their iPods in 2003, I was flicking through my 50 songs on my Mp3 player.

While everyone was pulling up the Google browser on their smart phones in 2008, I was texting Cha-Cha for answers to my questions and the Twitter Mobile number to tweet.

While everyone was plugging in their laptops in 2009, I was powering up my desktop PC.

Sad, but true.

I eventually caught up to everyone’s techy trends–I own a 5th generation iPod Nano and an android phone– except for one.

eBooks.

Nope.

I refuse.

I refuse to try and convince myself that a swipe of the finger on a smooth screen to flip to the next the page is better than the lick-and-turn method.

I refuse to curl up in bed with a cold, plastic Kindle instead of a paper-back book.

I refuse to power on a Nook on a fall afternoon rather than crack open a novel.

I refuse to pick up a device that I can read both a text message and literary text from.

When I read a book, I am transferred into another world. A world where I know new people and am a part of a new life. I am outside of myself. I can leave my worries and stress behind.

Reading a book is an experience. Finishing a book is a moment of achievement and pride. Nothing beats the feeling of satisfaction I get from adding a just-read book to my book shelves. Horizon and vertical, short and tall, skinny and fat. The spins of my books tell stories from periods of my life.

eBooks could never do that.

There is something wonderful about walking into a Barnes and Noble and browsing the aisles and aisles of shelves of books until a certain spine catches your eye. When you hold a book in your hands, you feel the weight of everything awaiting in between the front and back covers.

Opening the cover, creasing the page, folding the book. I would never give up that timeless (and unbreakable) magic for a device I have to charge at night.

Books build friendships and relationships. They create common ground for people who have read or are reading the same book, or they at least serve as an ice breaker for people who have differing opinions on a book.

I don’t want to make it seem like I’m against technological improvements- that’s not the case at all.

I’m all for it! Make my smart phone smarter, make my packages arrive via drone, but, please, don’t mess with books.

Paper > Plastic and glass.

Forever.

2 thoughts on “Books rule, eBooks drool

  1. Emma Louise Chaplin

    I have a tablet with Kindle app, which is good for commuting and travel but it will never beat the good old fashioned hard copy of a book!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

