Confessions of a flake

Hello, I’m back from my hiatus!

I moved back to school a few weeks ago and it’s been hard to find time to write, and things to write about. But that’s my own fault.

When I’m not dealing with my classes, two jobs  and position as a copy editor for my campus newspaper, I try to maintain my ‘social life,’ or at least that’s what I like to tell people.

The truth is, if you can drag me out of the house on a Saturday night, you should consider yourself lucky. I’m a self-proclaimed hermit. My ideal weekend is staying in, watching movies, and only going outside to get food. Not exciting stuff.

But last night was different.

I went into Philadelphia with some friends who had been there many times. I, despite living only 20 minutes away from the city, have only been there three times.

We had plans to meet at the train station at 9pm. As the time got closer to 9, I felt myself retracting into my hermit shell, bubbling up some poor excuses to have at the ready as to why I decided to flake—it wouldn’t be the first time.

The thing with me is that I fear the unknown. I watch the news, I see what happens in cities at night. I know that I am not invincible and that bad things could happen to me. So I use those reasons to push myself further back into my shell, where I am convinced I would be happier.

These thoughts went through my head last night, but this time I did not let them win.

I followed through with my plans and went into Philly with my friends, and it was a great time!

We went to this place called Barcade, which is exactly what it sounds like. A bar and an arcade, with 25-cent games and cheap drinks and food!

We hopped around to a few other bars and I saw and experienced things I never would have if I had just stayed at home and watched a marathon of The League.

I learned that it is important to break up the monotony of the week with some friends and fun. I’m never gonna be this young again, so I might as well experience all that I am able to now.

Leave a Reply

