10 Best Cover Songs

I have always been a huge fan of cover songs, even since I heard The Ataris cover Don Henley’s “Boys of Summer” on the radio when I was 10. There is something about the fresh take on a good song that draws me in.

I have rounded up and listed my favorite cover songs (the ones I could think of off the top of my head).

Are you a fan of cover songs, too? Any awesome covers I should check out? Let me know!

I See Stars covering The Outfield’s “Your Love”

Thirteen-year-old me still loves scream music. *devil horns*

Original.

New Found Glory covering Sixpence None The Richer’s “Kiss Me”

I love NFG’s pop-punk take on such a beautiful, romantic song. Instead of slow dancing to this one with your boo, you two can jump around to it. Plus, Hayley Williams makes an appearance in the music video.

Original.

The Ataris covering Don Henley’s “Boys of Summer”

I think I will love this song forever. It’s my favorite driving-with-the-windows-down song.

Original.

Bastille covering City High’s “What Would You Do”

I heard this song for the first time this week, and I fell in love with this band’s darker take on a R&B/hip-hop song. And the lead singer’s English accent, too. 😉

Original.

Iron & Wine covering The Postal Service’s “Such Great Heights”

I am actually not positive which version I enjoy listening to more. While The Postal Service gives their song a electronic beat with a faster pace, Iron & Wine slows the song down, plucking it all out on nothing but a couple guitars.

Original.

fun. and Hayley Williams covering Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used To Know”

This is another song that has me questioning which version I like more! The original is beautiful, but this cover done by fun. and Hayley Williams is more raw, using an acoustic guitar and a piano (of course) to guide the song. Also, I’m not usually a fan of songs performed lived like this version, but I personally think this is uh-mazing.

Original.

Ellie Goulding covering Elton John’s “Your Song”

Elton John is an incredible English Singer. Ellie Goulding is an incredible English singer. Boom.

Original.

The Hoodies covering Taylor Swift’s “Love Story”

The Hoodies shine a slightly indie-pop light on this T-Swift jam. Plus, their name is The Hoodies. Everyone loves hoodies.

Original.

Escape The Fate covering Santana’s “Smooth”

The guitars are heavy in both versions of this song, but they are even heavier in the Escape The Fate version, making it that much sexier of a song.

Original.

Stiff Dylans covering The Buzzcocks’ “Ever Fallen in Love (With Someone You Shouldn’t’ve)

OK, this one is sort of a guilty pleasure because it was in a movie that I’m too embarrassed to mention here. BUT it is still a great pop cover more geared toward younger listeners.

Original.

Leave a Reply

