Wants and Needs

We all have two lists in our minds that we are constantly updating. Those two lists are titled “Wants” and “Needs.”

Maybe you’re window shopping, and out of the corner of your eye you spot a gorgeous sun dress with your favorite pattern, cut in the exact style that complements your shape.

You NEED it.

In that instant, you are 99% convinced that you cannot go on living your gorgeous-sun-dress-free life, so you buy it, and of course it’s super overpriced. But who cares! You bought the dress you wanted.

On your drive home, your car suddenly stops in the middle of the highway. Why? Because you didn’t buy the belt that your car needed.

As I get older, I’m realizing that my “Need” list, while not always exciting, is the more important of the two lists. Do I need those awesome stilettos? No. Do I need those reliable sandals that I can wear anywhere from work to the bar? Yes.

It’s fun to want things. It gives us something to look forward to! For instance, I am in need of a new car in the near future. I’ve been saving up to get a reliable one because my current car has a lot of miles on it (and I travel over an hour to get to work).

Here is what my two lists currently look like:

                           NEED

toyota-camry-2013-black-with-white-background

 

                           WANT

vsp

Self controlllll.

Leave a Reply

