10 awesome things that happened in 2014

When the clock strikes 12 on New Year’s Day, we wave goodbye to the year that just was and wave hello to the new year that will hold our destiny for a full 365 days.

2014, you were a fantastic year. You brought so many great opportunities and events into my life. You taught me a lot, too. Some good lessons, some bad lessons, but mostly good.

Here are 10 awesome things that happened to be in 2014:

1. I went to the College Media Association.

I met so many cool people in the journalism field, including a few people from BuzzFeed who got me in contact with their copy chief. She and I met for coffee one day. She was great.

2. I graduated from college.

Never thought I’d see the day when I’d be walking across a stage, wearing a black gown and hat, to shake the hand of the dean of my college with one hand, and grab my diploma with the other. I didn’t know what was going to happen after that point. I was scared for the future. But little did I know that during my graduation ceremony I would receive a very special phone call that would lead to…

3. I got a full-time job

I literally graduated with a job, but I didn’t know that until after the ceremony when I was able to check my phone and my voice mail. I have now been with my job for almost 7 months, and while it is not where I want to be for the rest of my life, it is a good job that is giving me great experience. I am so lucky to have the position I do and to be surrounded by fantastic coworkers.

4. I went to Las Vegas

The Strip by day and the raging clubs by night–Las Vegas was amazing. The weather was perfect every day and I was actually old enough to enjoy everything that Vegas has to offer, i.e. drinking and gambling! I have a lot of family that lives in Las Vegas, so the trip was to see them, but also to celebrate my birthday.

5. I turned 22

Turning 22 in Las Vegas was so much fun. Everyone I met was very nice and generous (free drinks, haaaay). Plus, I was with my wonderful friend who took care of me while I was a hot mess.

6. My boyfriend and I celebrated a one-year anniversary

Anniversaries are very special if the person you are with is very special. I really got so lucky with my boyfriend. He tolerates me, and that’s all I could ask for!

7. I started working out more

I joined a gym a year or so ago, but I found that I was barely using it. My friend had lost a lot of weight and gotten herself in shape by doing at-home workouts and following a workout program, so I decided to give that a try. I found that I really enjoyed working out from home and trying out different workout programs, and I’ve been doing that ever since.

8. I got rid of excess baggage

By baggage, I mean people and unnecessary things. I’m at the age where I don’t need to keep people around who don’t a) make me happy, and b) don’t fit my friendship criteria.

9. I got re-reconnected with all of my hometown friends

When I moved back home after college, so did most of my friends, which was great because we were able to all hang out again. I feel like our friendships are even stronger now.

10. I made the first payment of my student loan

One month down, only 5-10 more years to go!

Leave a Reply

