Netflix: the glue in a millennial society

I finally feel like a normal 23-year-old girl/woman/thing.

For what feels like years, I’ve been missing out on what used to be a huge phenomenon but has since become a social norm of today’s society. I would even go so far as saying this activity has the ability to potentially outcast you or help you assimilate into any environment.

I’m talking about Netflixing.

I’ve had Netflix for about six months now, and I finally understand what all the hype is about. I finally understand all the Netflix memes like this:

funny-netflix-meme

I let Netflix make my decisions for me now.

And this:

just-watching-some-netflix-100979

We all know this one all too well…

Andddd this:

62230978

According to a study by NPD Group, “75% of Millennials *who own connected TVs are using them to watch over-the-top content (Netflix, YouTube, etc).”

That’s not to say that all of our routines go like this: sleep, work/school, Netflix, repeat. But the shows we spend our time watching often define us, much like a culture.

As a millennial, I’m confident in saying that while we do converse over breaking news, politics, and technology, the shows we watch are a quick segue into a more enjoyable conversation that is likely to form a bond between millennials.

How many times have you been at the water cooler at work or waiting for your class to begin and the person next to you asks if you like “Game of Thrones” or “Breaking Bad”?

It’s interesting how TV shows can provide¬†acceptance, form friendships, create bonds, much like music does. It brings people together, and that’s powerful.

Now, if only there was a three-day Netflix festival…much like a Woodstock.

 

 

Feature image

 

Leave a Reply

